My Letter To Commissioner Selig

To: Allan H “Bud” Selig, Commissioner, Major League Baseball
CC: Ned Colletti, General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers
RE: Los Angeles Dodgers Open Leadership Position

Dear Commissioner Selig,
Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Alex Horwitch. Born and raised in Calabasas, CA (a suburb of Los Angeles), I am a third-year Public Relations/Journalism student at the University of Oregon. My family have been season ticket holders for the Dodgers since 1962, when Dodger Stadium opened. I was born to bleed blue, which I continue to do during good times and bad. Right off the bat, I would like to thank you for taking control of the team away from Frank McCourt. You have brought a bright future to the fans and the team. Thank you.

I am writing regarding the open position of “MLB Representative” to oversee the day-to-day operations of the Dodgers in the interim time between owners. I would love to be your man on the ground at Chavez Ravine and assist in running the team. I know what you’re thinking. “He’s only 21. Not even out of college yet. How can he run a baseball team for me?” I believe my leadership experience and positions held within the world of collegiate athletics, and my genuine love for the Dodgers will help change your mind.

FAN RELATIONS:

At the University of Oregon, I am President of the “Pit Crew,” the largest student group on campus. The Pit Crew is the association in charge of the student section at Mens/Womens Basketball, Football, Baseball, Volleyball, and Softball. I have worked closely with the UO Athletic Department and Marketing Department to help encourage student involvement and turn-out at these games. I have run successful campaigns to involve students and make them aware of promotions at games. I ran a extremely successful campaign to “Green Out” the Los Angeles Coliseum for our game at USC this year, appearing on John Canzano’s radio show in Portland, and printed in newspapers both here in Oregon, as well as the USC Daily Trojan. At basketball games, I lead the students down to the tunnel before the game starts to welcome the team to the floor. At all sporting events, I help organize and lead cheers for the student section to encourage the team and its players. I also believe that since I am a fan, I will be able to speak for the fans on what changes should be made.

EVENTS AND PLANNING:

In this past year, I have worked with NIKE in helping to organize and manage several events in regards to our football program. I assisted with the “NIKE Toga War” prior to the UO-OSU Civil War Game. I served as a “man on the ground” for NIKE during the Civil War Game to help capture the students reactions during ESPN Game Day, and during the game itself. I worked with both NIKE and the UO Athletic Department during the opening of the new Matthew Knight Arena for its opening ceremonies, as well as the “NIKE Clash Of The Champions” event held at the arena. As a member of the a’cappella group on campus, On The Rocks, I served as Tour Manager, planning not only concerts, but also events and activities to attend while on tour.

MARKETING, BRANDING, AND PUBLIC RELATIONS:

Recently, I have worked with multiple NIKE employees (including Tinker Hatfield , creater of the Air Jordan brand, and Todd Van Horne, NIKE Sport Apparel and Innovation Creative Director) on the marketing and re-branding of The Pit Crew. This includes helping design a new logo and shirt for The Pit Crew. As Public Relations director of On The Rocks, I promoted our appearance on NBC’s “The Sing-Off,” as well as the release of our album, multiple concerts, tour, and other appearances. I am skilled in social media communications and have run many viral campaigns for On The Rocks.

OTHER LEADERSHIP:

As a member of the Alpha Epsilon Pi Fraternity at the UO, I served as Assistant Pledge Master and assisted in running the pledge program, fraternal education, and successfully inducted 25 new members in the fraternity. In high school, I was director of the student run a’cappella group, Unstrumental. I directed 2 plays and also served as Treasurer for a club on campus. Over the past three summers, I have worked as a camp counselor for children ranging in ages 6 to 16.

I hope that you consider me for this position. It would be a dream come true to help run such a historic franchise, and one that means so much to me.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you. No matter what, I want to thank you again for removing Frank McCourt from his reign of incompetence. Think Blue!

Respectfully,

Alexander C Horwitch

6 Responses to My Letter To Commissioner Selig

  1. Fran says:

    You are not kidding are you?

  2. Fanny says:

    You just have to wait for answer !
    i hope for you it will be positive !!!

  3. Michaela says:

    Good luck! Hope you get the position!

  4. jordoncloud says:

    This is awesome and inspires me a little further to start a cover letter for my dream internship. Good luck

  5. Nathalie says:

    Hope you get what you want! Wish you luck (if it’s not late)!

Leave a Reply

