I’m With Coco

Watching The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien the past few nights really has been something else. We are all watching a man who works harder at his job than most people do, and who truly loves his job, slowly turn into a comedic-one-man NBC wrecking ball. He is taking shots at NBC, Leno, and everyone else involved with the current situation like his job isn’t on the line. He wrote a sketch from Jack McBreyer tonight in which he blatantly took a HUGE shot at all NBC executives. McBreyer was the voice of Conan, calling a network who would change times on someone a “monster.” “Fun Fact: Conan and other members of the Tonight Show staff uprooted their families to move to Los Angeles to produce this show.” Ricky Gervais then came on and told Conan to get drunk, have fun, “go mental. What are they gonna do? Fire you!?”

Gervais is exactly right, and Conan has not been shying away from it. I noticed this for the first time last night, when he entered for his monologue doing the same old shtick he did on Late Night (the jump, spin entrance, followed by the “strings attached to hips” routine). Conan is having the time of his life, due to the fact that he doesn’t know how much longer he has for his dream job. I’m with Coco. I will follow Conan wherever he goes; if that be to FOX, staying at NBC, or anywhere else. Conan is a comedic genius, writing some of the best Simpsons episodes of all time (Monorail ring a bell for you Simpsons fans? All Conan) and SNL. Tonight’s monologue said the following:
Hi, I’m Conan O’Brien, and I’ve been practicing the phrase, “Who ordered the mochaccino grande?”

Hosting “The Tonight Show” has been the fulfillment of a lifelong dream for me – and I just want to say to the kids out there watching: You can do anything you want in life. Unless Jay Leno wants to do it too.

According to a new TV Guide poll, 83 percent of voters want me to stay at 11:35. When he heard this poll number, President Obama asked, “How can I get NBC to screw me over?”

I’m getting a lot of support out there, especially from an online group calling themselves “Team Conan.” It’s very exciting-it’s the first time in my life I’ve been on a team where I wasn’t picked last.

Last night, the new season of “American Idol” started on the FOX Network and it was watched by an audience of 30 million people. When they heard that, NBC executives said “That’s not true, there’s no such thing as an audience of 30 million people.”

I’m starting to ramble, but in short, Conan is gaining the support NBC never allowed, or thought he would, get. NBC has, for a lack of a better term, fucked up…..BIG TIME! Congratulations to Conan for standing up to the bully named NBC. It’s the Tonight Show, not a sitcom. You have to allow time for an audience. And when Conan is elsewhere (as Letterman joked, “Replacing my job on this [CBS] network”) getting bigger ratings than Leno and becoming the new “King of Late Night,” the NBC executives will look across the board room table and say “What did we do!?”

Max Gaspin…..FIX THIS MESS!

One Response to I’m With Coco

Leave a Reply

